Florida car insurance laws dictate that every driver must purchase a minimum amount of car insurance to operate a vehicle on state roadways legally. Depending on your driver history, you might pay more or less than other drivers to meet the state’s car insurance requirements.
What Are Florida’s Car Insurance Requirements?
When registering a car, truck, or SUV with Florida’s Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), you must provide the following:
- Proof of Personal Injury Protection Insurance ($10,000 minimum coverage)
- Proof of Property Damage Liability Insurance ($10,000 minimum coverage)
While Florida is a no-fault state, injured parties still have the right to sue you for damages. That’s why experts recommend that you purchase more than the state-required amount of car insurance coverage. If you only buy minimum coverage, you risk paying out of pocket if repair and medical costs exceed your insurance coverage. It’s also a good idea to purchase bodily injury liability, even though Florida car insurance laws don’t require it.
Keep in mind that, even if you aren’t driving your vehicle or it’s inoperable, you still have to maintain insurance coverage. If you plan on canceling your insurance policy, Florida law requires you to surrender your license plate before cancellation. Drivers moving out of state must maintain insurance coverage until they register their car with their new state of residence.
What Are the Penalties for Driving In Florida Without Insurance?
If a police officer asks for proof of insurance during a traffic stop or after an accident and you’re unable to provide it, you may face the following penalties:
- First Offense: A suspension of your license and registration for up to three years and a $150 reinstatement fee.
- Second Offense: A suspension of your license and registration for up to three years and a $250 reinstatement fee.
- Subsequent Offenses: A suspension of your license and registration for up to three years and a $500 reinstatement fee.
If you let your insurance coverage lapse, Florida car insurance laws require your provider to notify the FLHSMV. The agency will give you a deadline to provide proof of coverage.
Florida’s SR-22 Requirements
Florida car insurance laws typically require you to file an SR-22 form in the following circumstances:
- Reckless driving
- Serious traffic offenses or repeated offenses
- Causing an accident and not having insurance
If you commit any of these violations, the state of Florida will classify you as a high-risk driver, and your insurance provider will have to file an SR-22 form on your behalf for up to three years. Your provider can only file this form after you purchase enough insurance to meet Florida’s minimum personal injury protection and property damage liability requirements.
Florida’s SR-44 Requirements
If a Florida court convicts you of driving under the influence, Florida car insurance laws require you to file an FR-44 form. Before you file the FR-44 form, you must purchase the following amounts of car insurance:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $100,000 per person
- Bodily Injury Liability: $300,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability: $50,000 per accident
If you cancel your insurance or let it lapse during the period that you’re required to file an SR-44 form, your provider will notifiy the FLHSMV.
How Much Does Minimum Car Insurance Cost in Florida?
If you’re looking for affordable minimum liability coverage, the following companies provide the most affordable rates on average:
- GEICO: $590 a year/$49 a month
- Allstate: $1,034 a year/$84 a month
- Allied: $1,056 a year/$88 a month
- State Farm: $1,085 a year/$90 a month
Military members, veterans, and their immediate family members can qualify for insurance coverage through USAA. The average cost for minimum coverage from USAA is $406 annually and $34 monthly. Remember that your rates may differ from average costs depending on your age, zip code, and driving record.
Florida Car Insurance Costs by Age Group
Depending on your age, you’ll end up paying more or less for car insurance than other Florida drivers. That’s because insurance providers view teen drivers as less responsible and charge more to cover the risks associated with providing them coverage. As you get older, you should see your insurance rates decrease, unless you have a spotty driving record. Here’s what you can excpect to pay, on average, based on your age:
- Age 16: $5,983.52 annually
- Age 17: $ 5,604.02 annually
- Age 18: $4,855.11 annually
- Age 19: $3,805.73 annually
- Ages 20 to 29: $2,366.51 annually
- Ages 30 to 39: $1,793.60 annually
- Ages 40 to 49: $1,755.86 annually
- Ages 50 to 59: $1,640.71 annually
- Ages 60 to 69: $1,672.37 annually
- Ages 70 to 79: $2,028.20 annually
Florida Car Insurance Costs After a Traffic Violation
If you’re involved in an accident, convicted of a DUI, or receive a speeding ticket, your insurance provider will consider you to be a risk to insure, and will raise your rates. Here’s what you can expect to pay for car insurance, on average, after different violations:
- DUI/DWI: $2,739.96 annually
- Reckless Driving: $2,715.59 annually
- At-Fault Accident (With Damages <$1,000): $2,476.08 annually
- At-Fault Accident (With Damages Between $1,000 and $2,000): $2,584.21 annually
- At-Fault Accident (With Damages >$2,000): $2,476.08 annually
- Open Container: $2,315.21 annually
- Speeding (21 to 25 mph over the limit): $2,425.34 annually
- Speeding (16 to 20 mph over the limit): $2,425.34 annually
Car Insurance Discounts
Florida drivers over the age of 55 can receive a car insurance discount by completing Florida’s mature driver course. The course covers topics such as state traffic laws, defensive driving techniques, and factors that can affect your ability to drive. You can complete the course online, then present your completion certificate to your insurance provider. Florida law mandates that anyone who completes the course receive a discount as long as they maintain a safe driving record.
If you’re under the age of 55, you can still save money on your car insurance. Consult your provider to see if they offer safe driver discounts, bundling discounts, or good student discounts.
Now that you know how much insurance coverage Florida car insurance laws require you to carry, you can decide how best to meet these requirements. Choosing an insurance provider you trust will help you drive with confidence.
At FIXD, our mission is to make car ownership as simple, easy, and affordable as possible. Our research team utilizes the latest automotive data and insights to create tools and resources that help drivers get peace of mind and save money over the life of their car.