Image via Unsplash by Andras Vas
To register a car, truck, or SUV in the state of Florida, you must present proof of meeting the state’s minimum car insurance requirements. While car insurance is required in order for you to operate a vehicle on Florida’s roadways legally, it doesn’t have to break the bank. Here is your guide to meeting the Florida minimum car insurance requirements and saving money on your insurance.
Florida’s Insurance Requirements
Florida is a “no-fault” state, which means that your insurance provider covers damages to your vehicle and any medical care you might need, even if you are at fault. Every driver who operates a vehicle on Florida’s roadways must meet the following minimums for car insurance coverage:
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP): Your insurance policy must include at least $10,000 worth of PIP coverage. Your policy’s PIP limit is the maximum amount your provider will pay if you sustain an injury in an accident, no matter who is at fault.
- Property Damage Liability (PDL): Your insurance policy must also include $10,000 worth of PDL coverage. Your policy’s PDL limit is the maximum amount your provider will pay if your vehicle or other property sustains damage in an accident.
Even though Florida doesn’t require drivers to purchase bodily injury liability, you still have to prove that you’re able to pay for damages that you could cause in an accident. The easiest way to show that you can meet your financial obligations is to add the following to your car insurance policy:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $10,000 per person
- Bodily Injury Liability: $20,000 per accident
Florida law mandates that insurance companies offer you the option to purchase uninsured motorist insurance, but you can decline to do so in writing. Choosing a minimum coverage policy may be less expensive up front, but drivers who choose this type of coverage often end up paying a considerable amount out of pocket after a major accident. In the long run, purchasing full coverage is likely to save you money. Plus, if you’re leasing a vehicle, minimum coverage may not meet your leasing company’s insurance requirements.
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance
It’s a crime to drive in Florida without proof of insurance or other evidence that you can meet your financial responsibilities in the event of an accident. If you’re caught driving without insurance, you could face the following penalties:
- First Offense: Suspension of your license and registration for up to three years unless you present proof of coverage in time. You’ll also have to pay a $150 license reinstatement fee in the event of a suspension.
- Second Offense: Suspension of your license and registration for up to three years and a $250 reinstatement fee if your insurance lapse occurs within three years of your first offense.
- Subsequent Offenses: Suspension of your license and registration for up to three years and a $500 reinstatement fee if subsequent insurance lapses occur within three years of your first offense.
Every vehicle registered in Florida must have continuous coverage even if the vehicle is not in use or inoperable. If you have to cancel your insurance or move out of state, make sure you surrender your registration and license plate to a Florida driver’s license office before canceling or changing your Florida insurance. Otherwise, your Florida registration will be suspended, which could then cause your registration in your new state of residence to be suspended as well.
Florida Insurance Rates
On average, Florida drivers pay $2,364 a year for full car insurance coverage. That’s 41% higher than the national average of $1,674 a year for full coverage. The state’s extreme weather conditions, high rate of uninsured motorists, and no-fault insurance laws all contribute to higher insurance costs for Florida residents. While you’re likely to pay more for car insurance than drivers who live in other states, you may save money if you purchase full coverage from one of the following providers:
- State Farm: $1,739 annually/$145 monthly
- Geico: $2,085 annually/$174 monthly
- Allstate: $2,441 annually/$203 monthly
- Progressive: $2,573 annually/$214 monthly
- Direct Auto: $2,766 annually/$231 monthly
These are average rates that may vary depending on your driver profile. If you plan on purchasing minimum coverage, the following companies provide the most affordable rates in Florida:
- Geico: $841 yearly/$70 monthly
- State Farm: $842 yearly/$70 monthly
- Allstate: $1,138 yearly/$95 monthly
- Progressive: $1,156 yearly/$113 monthly
- Direct Auto: $1,379 yearly/$115 monthly
Again, these are average prices and can differ depending on your circumstances.
Factors That Can Impact Your Insurance Rates
When you request a car insurance quote, the provider will take several factors into consideration to calculate your rates. That’s because your driver profile may make you a risk to insure. For example, young drivers have less experience behind the wheel than a driver in their 40s, so they are typically charged more for insurance. Here’s what you can expect to pay for full coverage in Florida, on average, depending on your age bracket:
- Ages 16 and 17: $4,343 yearly
- Ages 18 and 19: $8,167 yearly
- Ages 20 to 24: $5,726 yearly
- Ages 25 to 29: $3,359 yearly
- Ages 30 to 39: $2,958 yearly
- Ages 40 to 49: $2,364 yearly
- Ages 50 to 59: $2,480 yearly
- Ages 60 to 69: $2,400 yearly
- Ages 70 to 79: $2,628 yearly
The part of Florida you live in can also affect your rates. If you live in a more densely populated area where you’re more likely to encounter uninsured motorists or be the victim of auto theft, you’ll likely pay higher rates than a driver who lives in a rural area. Here are the most affordable Florida cities for minimum insurance coverage:
- Ponce de Leon: $707 yearly
- Marianna: $709 yearly
- Malone: $709 yearly
- Greenwood: $709 yearly
Drivers who live in the following cities pay less, on average, for full coverage:
- Santa Rosa Beach: $1,752 yearly
- Freeport: $1,757 yearly
- Defuniak Springs: $1,770 yearly
- Alachua: $1,775 yearly
Your driving record has the greatest effect on your insurance rates. Here’s what drivers with clean records pay, on average, for full coverage, versus what drivers with less-than-perfect records pay:
- Spotless record: $2,364 yearly
- Speeding ticket on your record: $3,352 yearly
- Accident on your record: $3,663 yearly
- DUI on your record: $3,458 yearly
While the easiest way to pay less for car insurance is to maintain a clean record, many insurance companies have forgiveness policies for speeding tickets and minor accidents, especially if it’s a driver’s first offense. You can also try to qualify for good student, policy bundling, and other discounts.
Whether you decide to purchase minimum or full coverage, you should shop around for the best price. Now that you know the Florida minimum car insurance requirements, you can figure out which level of coverage is right for you.
At FIXD, our mission is to make car ownership as simple, easy, and affordable as possible. Our research team utilizes the latest automotive data and insights to create tools and resources that help drivers get peace of mind and save money over the life of their car.