The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles requires at-risk drivers to file for SR-22 insurance. You’re considered an at-risk driver if you’ve been convicted of a serious traffic violation resulting in suspension or revocation of your driver’s license. While SR-22 isn’t an insurance policy, it’s required to show that you have sufficient insurance coverage on your vehicle in order to reinstate your driving privileges.
SR stands for safety responsibility, and this form is also known as a Certificate of Responsibility. SR-22 insurance must be filed with the state through your insurance agency to resume driving in Florida. The state will issue an SR-22 certificate to prove that you have sufficient automobile insurance coverage in Florida.
What Is SR-22 Insurance in Florida?
Image via Flickr by free pictures of money
An SR-22 will either be a paper or digital certificate issued by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to verify that you carry at least the minimum automobile insurance required by law. This certificate is required for at-risk drivers in Florida for three years from the date of suspension or revocation. Once notified that you’re required to file for SR-22 insurance, you have 30 days to do so. If you fail to carry SR-22 insurance for three years, your insurance company is required by law to report it to the state as soon as your policy lapses.
Who Is Considered an At-Risk Driver in Florida?
A variety of offenses can label you an at-risk driver. These include:
- Serious traffic violations such as reckless driving or DUI
- Multiple traffic violations such as failing to stop at red lights or speeding
- Being caught driving without insurance three times or more
- Causing an accident without having the minimum insurance requirements
- Failing to compensate for damages caused in an at-fault accident
- Not paying your child support
- Evading tolls excessively
- Failing to maintain an earlier SR-22 for the three years
How Do You Get SR-22 Insurance in Florida?
Obtaining SR-22 insurance in Florida is very similar to purchasing standard automobile insurance. It’s important to note that your current automobile insurance may have been canceled when your driver’s license was suspended or revoked, so you will want to verify whether or not you still have coverage. If your insurance company did not cancel your automobile coverage, it might be possible to simply add SR-22 insurance to your current policy. You will have to ask if they offer SR-22 insurance, as not all Florida automobile insurance companies provide this service.
Once you have decided to either add SR-22 insurance to your current policy or have located a new insurance company that offers this service, the process is relatively straightforward. The steps to get SR-22 insurance are as follows:
Apply for SR-22
Whether with your current insurance company or a new one, you should be able to select that an SR-22 is required either online, by phone, or in person. Complete the application process and submit it to your insurance agent.
Pay the Fees
In addition to the fee for the certificate, which ranges from $15 to $35, your insurance company may charge a flat fee for filing the form.
File Proof of Insurance With the State
You can’t file SR-22 insurance yourself. Florida requires that this form be submitted to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles by your insurance company. The filing process may take upward of 30 days, and you aren’t allowed to drive until it has been completed.
Once the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles has received your SR-22 insurance application and approved it, you’ll receive confirmation that your driver’s license has been reinstated. You can now drive again if you maintain your SR-22 insurance.
Florida requires that SR-22 insurance be maintained for three years, and it’s essential to renew it annually. You should renew it at least 45 days before it expires to ensure it doesn’t lapse. If there’s a lapse in your SR-22 insurance, your insurance provider is required by law to notify the state, resulting in the immediate suspension of your driving privileges.
Other Required Insurance Forms in Florida
In addition to the SR-22 insurance requirement, you may also be asked to file an FR-22 or an SR-21. An FR-22 is required when a serious traffic violation involves alcohol or drugs, such as a DUI. If you’re required to file an FR-22, you will also need to carry higher minimum insurance limits, resulting in even higher insurance premiums. You can expect the minimum coverage requirements with an FR-22 to be double that of an SR-22. The SR-21 is required for traffic violations and automobile accidents with much narrower circumstances.
How Much Is SR-22 Insurance in Florida?
Because you’re required to file SR-22 insurance with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, you’re likely to see an increase in your automobile insurance rates. The price hike is because you’re considered a higher risk to the insurance company. Unfortunately, this makes it difficult to find cost-effective insurance coverage. Be prepared to pay anywhere from 40% to 70% more for insurance premiums.
A driver required to carry the minimum FR-22 insurance after a DUI conviction can expect to pay an average of $1,790 annually. Compare that to $1,043 for a driver with a clean record, and you can see the expense of an SR-22 insurance requirement.
What Is Non-Owner SR-22 Insurance?
If you’ve been asked to provide SR-22 insurance to the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle Department but don’t own a vehicle, you can apply for a non-owner policy. The SR-22 insurance would cover you when you borrow someone else’s vehicle because non-owner insurance doesn’t cover the vehicle; it covers you as the driver. There are stipulations to driving someone else’s vehicle with non-owner SR-22 insurance. That vehicle cannot belong to anyone in your household, be a rental, or be used for business or work purposes.
What Are the Minimum Automobile Insurance Coverage Requirements in Florida?
Florida requires drivers to carry a minimum of liability insurance coverage by law. These limits are currently set at $10,000 bodily injury per person, with a maximum of $20,000 paid out per accident. You must also carry a minimum of $10,000 in property damage protection, covering the other driver’s property and any public property that incurs damage. It does not cover your vehicle damage.
At FIXD, our mission is to make car ownership as simple, easy, and affordable as possible. Our research team utilizes the latest automotive data and insights to create tools and resources that help drivers get peace of mind and save money over the life of their car.