Nevada has strict laws pertaining to high-risk drivers. If you have been convicted of driving under the influence or another major driving offense in Nevada, the Department of Motor Vehicles may require you to obtain an SR-22, also known as a Certificate of Financial Responsibility. In this article, we will discuss Nevada SR-22 insurance, costs associated with SR-22 policies, and how to find an affordable SR-22 rider.
What Is SR-22 Insurance?
The SR-22 is also referred to as the Nevada Proof of Financial Responsibility. The SR-22 isn’t technically an insurance policy, but a certificate filed with the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles by an insurance provider. The SR-22 rider proves that you carry the minimum liability insurance required in the state of Nevada. Nevada requires that all drivers maintain state-required liability coverage with these minimums:
- $25,000 bodily injury/death per person per accident
- $50,000 total bodily injury/death of two or more persons per accident
- $20,000 injury/destruction of property of others per accident
Unlike other states that allow you to provide a cash deposit to cover the liability minimums, Nevada requires all high-risk drivers to carry an SR-22 policy.
When Is SR-22 Insurance Required in Nevada?
SR-22 insurance is required by high-risk drivers. Many circumstances can lead to a classification of high-risk, but drunk driving is the most common offense with an SR-22 requirement. Additionally, Nevada allows for a high-risk designation for specific non-driving offenses. Reasons you may be required to carry SR-22 insurance in Nevada include:
- Accumulating 12 or more points against your license in one year
- DUI or DWI
- Causing a collision with a pedestrian or a bicyclist
- Failing to appear in court after a traffic ticket
- Causing an accident that results in more than $750 in damage without liability insurance
- Failure to maintain auto insurance minimums or having repeated lapses in coverage
- Failing to provide court-ordered child support
- Graffiti conviction
- Participating in unauthorized street racing on a public highway in Nevada
How To Find SR-22 Insurance in Nevada
If you have an auto insurance policy, your insurance agent can add an SR-22 rider to your coverage. Your insurance company must send proof of SR-22 coverage to the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles.
Unfortunately, many high-risk drivers lose their insurance coverage after a serious violation. You must find a new insurance carrier that will cover you with an SR-22 rider. When researching insurance companies, be prepared to explain your driving convictions, violations, and history.
Once you find an insurer to cover you, the process of getting an SR-22 is simple. After paying a one-time fee of $75, your insurer will file your SR-22 form with the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles. The form must be filed by your insurance provider, as the state will not take policies filed by individual drivers. Expect to wait 30 days for the state to process your SR-22 form. After the processing time, you can have your vehicle registration and driver’s license reinstated. Do not resume driving until you have verified that your SR-22 form has been fully processed.
What Is the Cost of a Nevada SR-22?
If you need an SR-22 endorsement, expect to pay a lot more for your insurance. In the state of Nevada, SR-22 insurance is approximately $800 more than a normal liability policy, an increase of almost 50%. The cost of an SR-22 policy varies depending on the seriousness of your traffic violations. Driving while intoxicated, hit and run incidents, and accidents resulting in death usually lead to much higher SR-22 rates.
Your driving history, age, and violation severity may result in significantly higher costs than those quoted above. Be sure to compare at least three companies to get the best SR-22 rate possible.
What Is Non-Owner SR-22 Insurance?
If you lose your driver’s license while driving someone else’s car, you may be required to get an SR-22 policy to get your license back. This non-owner SR-22 is generally less expensive than the standard SR-22 policy.
If you cannot find an affordable SR-22 policy, you may need to consider getting a non-owner SR-22. Before filing for a non-owner SR-22, you must provide proof that you have sold your current vehicle.
FAQs About Nevada SR-22 Insurance
How long must I carry an SR-22 rider?
An SR-22 policy must be continuously maintained for three years from the date your driver’s license is reinstated. More serious driving violations (such as DUI) may result in an SR-22 period of up to five years.
How do I remove the SR-22 rider from my insurance policy?
You can remove your SR-22 rider anytime after fulfilling the period required by the state. Call the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles before canceling your policy to make sure you have met the mandated requirements. Contact your insurance provider with your SR-22 cancellation date and they will take care of the rest.
Please note that you must request the SR-22 removal from your policy. Your insurance company will not automatically remove it when the period of time you are required to carry it has elapsed. You will continue to pay high SR-22 rates until you do.
What if I let my SR-22 coverage lapse?
If you let your coverage lapse during your required SR-22 period, your driving license will be suspended. You may also be required to restart the SR-22 process again.
If you stop payment on your SR-22, Nevada law dictates that your insurance company notify the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles immediately. Non-payment may result in a cancellation of your SR-22 coverage, expensive fees, license suspension, or license revocation.
What isn’t covered by Nevada SR-22 insurance?
An SR-22 is liability-only coverage, meaning that it only covers third-party property damage and personal injuries after an accident. SR-22 insurance does not cover your injuries, household vehicles, commercial vehicles, rental vehicles, or personal property.
Is everyone with an SR-22 required to have an ignition interlock device?
Drivers convicted of DUI may be required to get a Restriction Y driver’s license. If you are required to get a driver’s license with a Restriction Y, you must provide the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles with:
- Proof that an ignition interlock device was installed in your vehicle
- Proof of current SR-22 coverage
- Reinstatement fees
- Required testing
Your license will be suspended if you drop your SR-22 coverage or tamper/remove the ignition interlock device during your court-ordered period.
If you have been convicted of a major driving offense in the state of Nevada, an SR-22 allows you to get behind the wheel again. Get the most affordable SR-22 coverage by comparing policies from multiple insurers. Most people are able to return to regular insurance rates after fulfilling their SR-22 requirement.
At FIXD, our mission is to make car ownership as simple, easy, and affordable as possible. Our research team utilizes the latest automotive data and insights to create tools and resources that help drivers get peace of mind and save money over the life of their car.