Image via Flickr by daveynin
SR-22 is a requirement by state law for high-risk drivers with a citation history. Your auto insurer files the form to prove that you meet the state’s minimum auto liability insurance requirements. Utah uses the SR-22 for safety as well as a penalty. This post delves into what’s unique about SR-22 in Utah, why you need it, and how to get the most affordable one you can.
What Is SR-22?
SR-22 or certificate of financial responsibility is a court- or state-mandated form that shows you meet minimum insurance requirements for the state. In Utah, SR-22 is primarily a penalty for drivers who drive without insurance.
When Do You Need SR-22 Insurance in Utah?
You may need SR-22 insurance in Utah for reckless driving, DUI, driving with a suspended license, excessive license points, or an accident caused by an uninsured driver.
If you need an SR-22, the Utah Department of Motor Vehicles will notify you. Usually, they will have revoked or suspended your license, and you will have to obtain an SR-22 before you can drive legally once again.
SR-22 is technically not auto insurance. It is a legal form that shows you have auto insurance in line with Utah’s minimum insurance requirements for vehicles. Minimum insurance requirements in Utah are:
- $25,000 for bodily injury liability cost per person
- $65,000 for bodily injury costs for more than one person
- $15,000 for property damage per accident
- $3,000 for personal injury protection
Who Needs an SR-22?
If the court mandates you to file SR-22, it is a no-brainer. You will need an SR-22 to reinstate your driving privileges and license. If you have too many tickets, DUI citations, are caught driving without valid insurance, or your driver’s license has been revoked, then you will need regular SR-22 for the mandated time.
Some folks don’t own their own vehicle but still need an SR-22 when they borrow a car. This form is called a non-owner SR-22. Typically, people with non-owner SR-22s have citations like reckless driving, too many tickets, driving without a license, and/or DUI. The cost of a non-owner SR-22 is roughly the same as an insured driver’s SR-22. However, most auto insurance companies will be apprehensive of offering a non-owner an SR-22. But you may find luck with high-risk insurers who cover non-owners.
How to Get SR-22 Insurance in Utah and the Cost
Finding cheap SR-22 insurance in Utah may take some research. Below, we give you some reliable options to kickstart your SR-22 shopping journey. Ultimately, you will have to consider your budget, age, and driving record before settling on one insurer.
Insurance firms often charge higher premiums for high-risk drivers due to the heightened costly liability claims. In Utah, the average cost for SR-22 ranges from $15-$35 for filing. Auto insurance with SR-22 means your premiums will increase from the rate you pay without an SR-22. Rates in Utah vary from insurer to insurer. Below are the rates for renowned auto insurance providers in Utah with and without SR-22 insurance:
|Company||Without SR-22||With SR-22|
The above rates for SR-22 and do not include the filing fee, which fluctuates between $15 and $35 for filing a single SR-22 form. Check with your preferred vehicle insurance provider on the preset filing fee they adopt.
If you already have auto insurance, contact your agent to set up your SR-22. If you don’t have a policy, the insurer will most likely require you to pay your premiums six to 12 months upfront before issuing the SR-22.
After you pay the filing fee and premiums, the insurer will file the SR-22 with the DMV, and you are home free to drive on the Utah roads legally.
SR-22 differs from other insurances that you typically pay a one-time monthly or annual cost to cover the family car. SR-22 is driver specific; therefore, each driver of the family car will need individual SR-22 if the court mandates it or they are in breach of traffic code repeatedly.
How Long Do You Need SR-22?
The state of Utah does not take kindly to driving without insurance, with a DUI, or other causations necessitating an SR-22. You will need to pay the SR-22 premiums for three years from the day you file the form. Once the three years have passed, you may discontinue SR-22 and shop for comprehensive or full coverage.
Be careful about changing your SR-22 insurance provider before the three-year period lapses. You must maintain continuous coverage throughout this period. Your provider is required to notify the state if your coverage lapses, at which time your license will be suspended. The only way to make sure this doesn’t happen is to continue your previous insurance coverage until you are absolutely certain your new insurance has taken effect, and that they have informed the state that you are covered. Only then can you discontinue your previous coverage. It will cost more to maintain both policies temporarily, but that is the price you must pay for the mandated continuous coverage. If you shop wisely, you can still save money in the end with your new, less expensive coverage.
What Happens After Getting an SR-22?
Getting an SR-22 is not the end of the world in Utah. Yes, you will pay higher premiums, but you will regain the ability to legally drive on the Utah roads.
After the state-mandated time is up, you will have to notify the insurance firm you no longer need the SR-22. They will not remove it automatically, so do this soon after your time is up so that you’re not paying higher premiums when you don’t have to. This is the best time to shop around for the cheapest insurance.
By now you have in-depth knowledge of SR-22 and can shop around for the cheapest insurance in Utah. Find the premiums that suit your budget and the insurer that meets your driving personality for your SR-22.
At FIXD, our mission is to make car ownership as simple, easy, and affordable as possible. Our research team utilizes the latest automotive data and insights to create tools and resources that help drivers get peace of mind and save money over the life of their car.